Wednesday, December 05, 2012

Dr. Doug McGuff on Strength Training Using Body by Science: Tonight on Philosophy in Action Radio

By Diana Hsieh

In tonight's episode of Philosophy in Action Radio Interview, I'll interview Dr. Doug McGuff on "Strength Training Using Body by Science."

I've used Dr. McGuff's methods for over a year and half now, and I've kept myself in great shape for riding horses and skiing with just 30 minutes of weight training per week -- with little soreness and minimal risk of injury. (You can read my periodic reports here.)

  • Who: Dr. Diana Hsieh, with physician and fitness expert Dr. Doug McGuff
  • What: Philosophy in Action Internet Radio: Strength Training Using Body by Science
  • When: Wednesday, 5 December 2012, 6 pm PT / 7 pm MT / 8 pm CT / 9 pm ET
  • Where: Philosophy in Action's Live Studio
Most people suppose that fitness requires long "cardio" sessions of running, biking, stair-climbing, or the like. In contrast, Dr. Doug McGuff advocates brief, infrequent, and high-intensity weight training using slow movements. Does this approach work? What are its benefits and costs compared to other fitness regimens?

Dr. Doug McGuff is an emergency medicine doctor practicing in South Carolina with a long-time interest in fitness, weightlifting, and high-intensity exercise. In 1997, he opened Ultimate Exercise, where he and his his instructors explore the limits of exercise. Dr. McGuff is the best-selling co-author of Body by Science and The Body by Science Question and Answer Book. You can read Dr. McGuff's blog at www.BodyByScience.net.


To join the live broadcast and its chat, just point your browser to Philosophy in Action's Live Studio a few minutes before the show is scheduled to start. By listening live, you can call the show with your questions and experiences, as well as post comments and questions in the text chat.

If you miss the live broadcast, you'll find the audio from the episode posted here: 5 December 2012: Dr. Doug McGuff on Strength Training Using Body by Science.

Philosophy in Action Radio broadcasts every Sunday morning and Wednesday evening. For information on upcoming shows and more, visit the Episodes on Tap.

I hope that you join us tonight!

Comment Rules

Rule #1: You are welcome to state your own views in these comments, as well as to criticize opposing views and arguments. Vulgar, nasty, and otherwise uncivilized comments will be deleted.

Rule #2: These comments are not a forum for discussion of any and all topics. Please stay loosely on-topic, and post random questions and comments in the designated "open threads."

Rule #3: You are welcome to discuss the merits (or lack thereof) of products. Spam comments will be deleted.

You can use some HTML tags in your comments -- such as <b>, <i>, and <a>.

Back to TOP