Saturday, November 13, 2010

Rationally Selfish Webcast

By Diana Hsieh

Lately, I've been having all kinds of fun experimenting with webcasting. At present, I'm doing a Rationally Selfish Q&A Webcast every Sunday morning at 8 am PT / 9 am MT / 10 am CT / 11 am ET. There, I answer questions on practical ethics and advice, informed by Ayn Rand's Objectivist ethics. Those questions are submitted during the the week via Google Moderator.

This week, I'll be discussing:

  • "What is the proper etiquette in regards to dealing with a deeply irrational person you have to deal with temporarily? Especially when his irrationality interferes with your value pursuits to some extent."
  • "My father and his side of the family are very religious while I am not. Is it moral for me to jeopardize my relationship with them to share the countless fallacies and inhumanities that is religion? If so, how does one go about this process?"
  • "What are your thoughts on using philosophy rather than psychology for therapy?"
  • "If you were physically abused as a child, but have grown up and "gotten over it," is it still reasonable to demand justice if only in the form of refusing to deal with the abuser?"
  • "Under what circumstances is it reasonable for a teacher to demand from his prospective students that his lessons be kept confidential?"
  • "A topic that has come up off and on over the past several months in the Objectivist blogosphere is the concept of "Value Density". Can you suggest how one would go about applying this concept to a specific event or area of life, such as a vacation?"
If that sounds interesting, you can watch the webcast and participate in the chat on the web page for Rationally Selfish. Once the webcast is done, I'll post it to NoodleCast as a podcast on Monday. You can subscribe to my podcasts in iTunes with enhanced M4A format or standard MP3 format.

If you'd like to submit a question or two for next week, please submit questions for next week! You can do that here: Google Moderator. I use the voting to determine how much time I'll devote to each question, meaning that the more popular questions are discussed at greater length.

I still have much to learn about using the medium of webcasting well, but I'm having all kinds of fun in the process. And perhaps, just perhaps, I see a paleo-related webcast in my future!

Comment Rules

Rule #1: You are welcome to state your own views in these comments, as well as to criticize opposing views and arguments. Vulgar, nasty, and otherwise uncivilized comments will be deleted.

Rule #2: These comments are not a forum for discussion of any and all topics. Please stay loosely on-topic, and post random questions and comments in the designated "open threads."

Rule #3: You are welcome to discuss the merits (or lack thereof) of products. Spam comments will be deleted.

You can use some HTML tags in your comments -- such as <b>, <i>, and <a>.

Back to TOP